Speaker 2017

Tim LeberechtBusiness romantic

Building a human company in the age of machines

Tim Leberecht is the author of The Business Romantic, and one of today’s most original business thinkers. In a world that races towards pervasive technology, big data and the desire to quantify everything, and against the backdrop of eroding trust in capitalism, Tim Leberecht’s provocative book provides surprising insights into the emotional and social aspects of business. He argues that we underestimate the importance of romance in our lives and suggests that we can find it in and through business – by designing products, services and experiences that connect us with something greater than ourselves. Previously, he was the CMO of global design and architecture firm NBBJ, and of design consultancy Frog Design. He lives in Berlin.

Keynote Speech on Video

“It’s not about being better than robots. It’s about beauty. Our role is to create beauty.”

Report : Building a human company in the age of machines

German-American thinker Tim Leberecht draws a parallel between workplace robotization and low morale among staff. We shouldn’t underestimate the importance of romance in business, he suggests. Tim Leberecht is a romantic. Although as a businessman he was CMO of design and architecture firm NBBJ and of design consultancy Frog Design—both American—he argues that the race towards pervasive technology, big data, and the desire to quantify everything have led to a loss of humanity, or “romance,” in economics and finance. The author of the provocative tome The Business Romantic came to deliver a message of hope at the 9th FHH Forum. His…

German-American thinker Tim Leberecht draws a parallel between workplace robotization and low morale among staff. We shouldn’t underestimate the importance of romance in business, he suggests.

Tim Leberecht is a romantic. Although as a businessman he was CMO of design and architecture firm NBBJ and of design consultancy Frog Design—both American—he argues that the race towards pervasive technology, big data, and the desire to quantify everything have led to a loss of humanity, or “romance,” in economics and finance. The author of the provocative tome The Business Romantic came to deliver a message of hope at the 9th FHH Forum. His talk, entitled Building a Human Company in the Age of Machines, rested on a single tenet: that creating beauty will help us find meaning again.

It’s hard nowadays to find beauty in the business world; automation, robots, digitalization and AI are all competing with human labor. This changing technology brings with it questions and doubt, and leads to depression in the workforce. A recent study cited by Leberecht found that only 13% of workers feel happy doing their job. And half of all employees will be replaced by AI within 20 years—a prospect welcomed by many CEOs, according to Leberecht.

He believes it’s time to make more room for the romantic, which is a truer reflection of the human soul. Doing this involves putting four principles into action. To begin with, you need to do things that may be considered unnecessary: “I once worked for a company that was the result of a merger of a large IT outsourcing firm and a boutique design firm,” Leberecht explained. A third, new brand was thus going to be launched. The new brand color was going to be orange and lots of orange balloons were ordered to mark the launch. But the board wondered if they were really necessary, and in the end they cut the balloons. The merger didn’t work out after all. “When you cut the unnecessary, you cut everything!”

The importance of intimacy

Second principle: create intimacy. In the West we spend over five hours a day on our smartphones, yet we’re lonelier than ever. Certain sources claim that in today’s societies, every adult has only one close friend. We’re in an age of social isolation. How do we design for intimacy when it’s so lacking? Leberecht recalls how in 2010 performance artist Marina Abramović held an exhibition at the MoMA in New York, where she tried to form an intimate connection with members of the public by sitting across a table from them and sharing a minute’s silence. One way to get closer is to make people take off their masks. Or, on the contrary, to put on masks. That’s what Danone did when it asked its employees to show up for a three-day meeting in fancy dress. We underestimate the power of a wig to sweep away hierarchy and reveal what’s authentic.

Third principle: Don’t be afraid of ugliness. In business there’s a whole vocabulary of positive-speak and jargon to replace the words that cause pain: “modernize” instead of “fire,” “consolidate” for “merger,” “challenge” instead of “crisis.” Leberecht laments how “one startup even says that when someone gets fired, they have ‘graduated’!” You have to say and show things the way they really are, even if they’re ugly. The brain is the ugliest part of the body, but it’s also the most magical. We’ve all been ugly at some point in our lives: as babies, or foreigners, or the new kid on the block, or when we’re drunk… All these situations where we don’t look our best. Even things that seem revolting can be seen under a noble aspect: in 2015 a militant artists’ collective exhumed the corpses of asylum-seekers who’d died on the Mediterranean, and reburied them in Berlin. “The goal was to allow them to reach their desired destination, even after their death,” Leberecht notes. It gives meaning. And that’s vital.

Lastly, the fourth principle: Suffer. “A little bit!” he adds quickly. Why do thousands of people flock to Burning Man every year, the alternative arts festival in the middle of the Nevadan desert? Why do people climb the highest peaks on Earth? Why do people bathe in the icy waters of the Arctic? Leberecht argues that this is to prove that they can survive trials and hardship. Because modern humans need to feel alive, they’ve replaced natural dangers with parachuting and bungee jumping! Or they go to Ikea! Ikea has perfected the art of frustration, with its gigantic stores and flat-pack self-assembly, turning suffering into a marketing strategy. We’re more connected than ever, yet as individuals we’re lonelier than ever; we’re drowning in an abundance of data, but the prevailing sentiment of our time is one of great loss. “Beauty can indeed save the world,” is Leberecht’s conclusion. “If we apply these four principles, and augment them by the exponential digital technologies of our time, then maybe we can be a little bit more human and live our lives more romantically.”

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2017

Tim LeberechtBusiness romantic

L’humanité des entreprises à l'âge des machines

Tim Leberecht, auteur de The Business Romantic, est l’un des penseurs actuels les plus originaux sur le monde des affaires. Dans un univers versé dans les technologies invasives, le big data et le désir de tout quantifier avec, en toile de fond, une confiance pâlissante dans le capitalisme, le livre provocateur de Tim Leberecht offre des vues surprenantes sur les aspects émotionnels et sociaux des affaires. Il prétend que nous sous-estimons l’importance de la romance dans nos vies et suggère que nous la trouvions dans les affaires en imaginant des produits, services et expériences qui nous relient à quelque chose de plus grand que nous. Auparavant, Tim Leberecht a été directeur opérationnel de NBBJ, atelier d’architecture et de design, et de Frog Design, consultant. Il vit à Berlin.

Conférence en vidéo

« Inutile de vouloir faire mieux que la machine. Il nous incombe de faire beau, de créer de la beauté. »

Compte rendu : L’humanité des entreprises à l'âge des machines

Le penseur germano-américain Tim Leberecht met en parallèle robotisation des entreprises et démotivation des employés. Il suggère de ne pas sous-estimer la romance dans le monde des affaires. Tim Leberecht est un romantique. Bien qu’issu du monde des affaires – il fut directeur opérationnel de l’atelier d’architecture et de design NBBJ ainsi que du consultant Frog Design, tous deux américains –, il estime que la course aux technologies, le big data et le désir de tout quantifier ont fait perdre toute humanité, ou toute « romance », à l’économie et à la finance. Auteur du livre provocateur The Business Romantic, il est venu délivrer un…

Le penseur germano-américain Tim Leberecht met en parallèle robotisation des entreprises et démotivation des employés. Il suggère de ne pas sous-estimer la romance dans le monde des affaires.

Tim Leberecht est un romantique. Bien qu’issu du monde des affaires – il fut directeur opérationnel de l’atelier d’architecture et de design NBBJ ainsi que du consultant Frog Design, tous deux américains –, il estime que la course aux technologies, le big data et le désir de tout quantifier ont fait perdre toute humanité, ou toute « romance », à l’économie et à la finance. Auteur du livre provocateur The Business Romantic, il est venu délivrer un message d’espoir au 9e FHH Forum. Sous le titre « L’humanité des entreprises à l’âge des machines », son discours reposait sur un seul credo : redonner de la beauté pour recréer du sens.

Difficile, aujourd’hui, de trouver de la beauté dans le monde de l’entreprise : l’automation, la robotisation, la digitalisation ou encore l’intelligence artificielle sont autant de notions concurrentielles au travail humain. Une évolution qui entraîne avec elle sa vague de remises en question, de doutes et de déprime parmi les travailleurs. Selon une étude récente, seuls 13 % d’entre eux seraient encore heureux à leur poste, mentionnait Tim Leberecht. Et 50 % des salariés seront remplacés par des intelligences artificielles d’ici 20 ans. Une perspective qui, selon le penseur, réjouit plutôt les patrons.

Il est temps, pour l’auteur, de redonner une place au romantisme, révélateur de l’âme humaine. Une reconquête qui passe par la mise en œuvre de quatre principes. À commencer par faire ce qui n’est pas forcément nécessaire : « Par le passé, il m’a été donné de vivre une fusion entre deux grandes entreprises, racontait Tim Leberecht. Il s’agissait de créer une nouvelle marque, et donc une nouvelle identité. Nous avions choisi l’orange comme couleur et commandé plein de ballons pour des visuels de lancement. Mais les patrons se sont demandé si tout cela était bien utile pour finalement supprimer les ballons. Au bout du compte, la fusion ne s’est pas faite. À force de ne faire que ce qui est nécessaire, on supprime tout ! »

L’importance de l’intimité

Deuxième principe : créer de l’intimité. En Occident, où les gens passent plus de cinq heures par jour sur leur Smartphone, la solitude règne en maître. Selon certaines sources, le modèle social actuel repose sur un seul véritable ami par adulte. Un vrai désert ! Mais comment recréer de l’intimité lorsqu’elle fait défaut ? « En 2010, l’artiste Marina Abramovic avait tenté, lors d’une performance au MoMA de New York, d’instaurer une relation intime avec des membres du public en échangeant une minute de silence avec quelques-uns d’entre eux, assis à une table. Faire tomber les masques, c’est une manière de procéder. Ou au contraire porter des masques. Pour une réunion de trois jours, Danone avait demandé à ses employés de venir déguisés. On sous-estime le pouvoir d’une perruque, qui permet de supprimer la hiérarchie et de révéler l’authentique. »

Troisième principe : ne pas fuir le laid. Dans l’entreprise, il existe tout un vocabulaire à consonance positive pour remplacer les mots qui font mal : « moderniser » à la place de « licencier », « consolidation » pour « fusion » ou encore « défi » au lieu de « crise ». « Dans certaines sociétés, on dit même à celui qui va être licencié qu’il va obtenir son diplôme, déplorait Tim Leberecht. Il faut dire et montrer les choses telles qu’elles sont, sans détour, quitte à être laid. Le cerveau, partie du corps la plus laide, est aussi la plus magique. Et nous avons tous été laids un jour : comme bébé, comme étranger, comme nouveau venu, comme ivrogne… Autant de situation lors desquelles nous n’apparaissons pas sous notre meilleur jour. » Même l’infâme peut parfois receler de la noblesse : en 2015, un collectif d’artistes militants avait fait exhumer des migrants morts en Méditerranée pour les réenterrer à Berlin. « Même de manière posthume, ils étaient arrivés à destination, relevait le penseur. Cela donne du sens. Et c’est essentiel. »

Enfin, quatrième principe : souffrir. « Un peu », s’empresse d’ajouter Tim Leberecht. Pourquoi des milliers de personnes se précipitent-elles chaque année à Burning Man, un festival artistique en plein désert du Nevada ? Pourquoi une poignée d’illuminés gravissent-ils les plus hauts sommets de la planète ? Pourquoi se baigne-t-on dans de l’eau glacée dans le Grand Nord ? « Pour se prouver que l’on peut survivre à ces épreuves, répond l’auteur. Parce que l’homme moderne a besoin de se sentir vivre, il a remplacé les dangers naturels par le saut en parachute ou le base-jump ! Ou Ikea ! Avec ses magasins gigantesques et ses plans de montage, cette entreprise a érigé la souffrance en véritable stratégie marketing. » La société n’a jamais été aussi connectée qu’aujourd’hui, mais l’individu souffre de solitude ; le monde croule sous des masses de données, mais le sentiment qui prédomine est celui d’une énorme perte. Conclusion de Tim Leberecht : « Il faut réinvestir dans le romantisme. Ces quatre principes, amplifiés par les nouvelles technologies, vont nous permettre de créer un monde meilleur. »

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.