Speaker 2017

Patrick ChappatteEditorial cartoonist

The world in a pencil

Patrick Chappatte draws cartoons for The New York Times, as well as for Swiss newspapers Le Temps and NZZ am Sonntag. He twice won the Overseas Press Club of America’s Thomas Nast award for best cartoons in international affairs, in 2011 and 2015. Over the last 20 years, he has been exploring graphic journalism in print, on the web and in animated form on TV. His latest project, with his journalist wife Anne-Frédérique Widmann, is a five-part series titled Inside Death Row, which was published by The New York Times website in May 2016. Through his Crossed Pens initiatives, Patrick Chappatte gathers editorial cartoonists in conflict-ridden countries to foster a dialogue on human rights through cartoons. He also co-founded the Cartooning for Peace Foundation, whose honorary chairman is Kofi Annan.

Keynote Speech on Video

“If there were to be only one meaning, one sense in the world, then it would have to be the sense of humour.”

Report : The world in a pencil

An editorial cartoonist sees international affairs through a prism of humor, satire, and occasionally even mockery. Patrick Chappatte shared his way of looking at the world with the FHH Forum. Patrick Chappatte draws cartoons for The New York Times, as well as for Swiss newspapers Le Temps and NZZ am Sonntag. Listening to him describe his work, we are left in little doubt as to his worldview. In his speech to the FHH Forum, he put it to the audience that “the big question of our era is, do we know what time it is?” It may seem a trivial question…

An editorial cartoonist sees international affairs through a prism of humor, satire, and occasionally even mockery. Patrick Chappatte shared his way of looking at the world with the FHH Forum.

Patrick Chappatte draws cartoons for The New York Times, as well as for Swiss newspapers Le Temps and NZZ am Sonntag. Listening to him describe his work, we are left in little doubt as to his worldview. In his speech to the FHH Forum, he put it to the audience that “the big question of our era is, do we know what time it is?” It may seem a trivial question for an audience of professionals at measuring time—but the point is, we’re clearly not all using the same instrument as a standard measure. Chappatte is talking about the Doomsday Clock, invented in 1947 at the University of Chicago to represent how close we are to global catastrophe. Nowadays it’s maintained by the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists and their expert panel, which includes over a dozen Nobel Prize winners. Last January the clock was put forward by 30 seconds so it now shows 57 minutes and 30 seconds after 11 pm, in other words two and a half minutes before “the inevitable.” Last time this famous clock was so close to the fateful hour was 64 years ago, when the Soviet Union began testing hydrogen bombs in 1953. The reasons given for the change by these new Masters of timekeeping are “the sharp rise of nationalism across the world, President Donald Trump’s statements on nuclear weapons, global warming, and worsening global security against a backdrop of increasingly sophisticated technologies.”

How do we make sense of it?

It goes without saying that these themes form the crux of Chappatte’s work, which has twice won him the Overseas Press Club of America’s Thomas Nast Award. Over the past 20 years, he has been exploring graphic journalism in print, on the web and in animated form on TV. One of his latest projects, with his journalist wife Anne-Frédérique Widmann, is a five-part series titled Inside Death Row, which was published by The New York Times website in May 2016. Through his Crossed Pens initiatives, Chappatte gathers editorial cartoonists in conflict-ridden countries to foster a dialog on human rights through cartoons. He also co-founded the Cartooning for Peace Foundation, whose honorary chairman is Kofi Annan.

Throughout his speech—richly illustrated, naturally—Chappatte led the audience through the overarching stories of our times: the North Korean nuclear standoff, the dire migrant crisis, the terrorist threat, the suicidal Brexit vote, global warming, Russian interference in the US elections, the Uberization of society, the inequality gap—even the Apple Watch, intelligent cars and new technologies came under scrutiny through his unorthodox lens. The point is to make us think about the issues facing us with lucidity, and with that little satirical distrust that sometimes makes you doubt whether the facts can actually be true. For Chappatte, the truth comes down to a single fact: “If there’s one thing that really gives meaning to existence, it’s our sense of humor!”

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2017

Patrick ChappatteDessinateur de presse

Dessine-moi le monde

Patrick Chappatte dessine pour The New York Times et pour les quotidiens suisses Le Temps et la NZZ am Sonntag. À deux reprises, en 2011 et 2015, il a reçu le prix Thomas Nast du Club américain de la presse internationale. Lors de ces vingt dernières années, Patrick Chappatte a exploré les voies du journalisme graphique en version papier, pour le Web et sous forme animée pour la télévision. Son dernier projet, mené en compagnie de sa femme journaliste Anne-Frédérique Widmann, est une série de cinq reportages « Au cœur du couloir de la mort » publiés sur le site du New York Times en mai 2016. À travers ses initiatives nommées « Crossed Pens », il rassemble des dessinateurs de presse originaires de pays en conflit pour encourager le dialogue sur les droits de l’homme à travers leur travail. Il est également cofondateur de la Cartooning for Peace Fondation, dont le président d’honneur est Kofi Annan.

Conférence en vidéo

« S’il ne devait rester qu’une signification, qu’un seul sens à notre monde, cela devrait être le sens de l’humour. »

Compte rendu : Dessine-moi le monde

L’actualité vue par un dessinateur de presse revient à regarder le monde par la lorgnette de l’humour, de l’ironie et parfois même de la dérision. Patrick Chappatte en a fait une démonstration au FHH Forum. Quand Patrick Chappatte, dessinateur de presse pour The New York Times et pour les quotidiens suisses Le Temps et la NZZ am Sonntag, plante le décor, autant dire qu’il ne laisse guère planer de doute quant à sa vision du monde. « La grande question du moment, expliquait-il lors de son intervention au FHH Forum, c’est de savoir quelle heure il est. » Question on ne peut plus triviale devant un…

L’actualité vue par un dessinateur de presse revient à regarder le monde par la lorgnette de l’humour, de l’ironie et parfois même de la dérision. Patrick Chappatte en a fait une démonstration au FHH Forum.

Quand Patrick Chappatte, dessinateur de presse pour The New York Times et pour les quotidiens suisses Le Temps et la NZZ am Sonntag, plante le décor, autant dire qu’il ne laisse guère planer de doute quant à sa vision du monde. « La grande question du moment, expliquait-il lors de son intervention au FHH Forum, c’est de savoir quelle heure il est. » Question on ne peut plus triviale devant un parterre de professionnels de la mesure du temps, si ce n’est que l’instrument qui doit servir de référence n’est assurément pas le même pour tous. Pour Patrick Chappatte, il s’agit de l’horloge de la fin du monde, cette horloge de l’Apocalypse conceptualisée dès 1947 par l’université de Chicago, aujourd’hui mise à l’heure par le Bulletin des scientifiques atomistes et son panel d’experts comptant notamment une quinzaine de prix Nobel. Or, en janvier dernier, ladite horloge a été avancée de 30 secondes pour afficher désormais 23 heures 57 minutes et 30 secondes, soit deux minutes et demie avant l’« inéluctable ». Cela fait 64 ans, depuis l’explosion de la première bombe atomique à hydrogène par l’URSS en 1953, que la célèbre horloge n’avait plus été aussi proche de l’heure fatidique. Et ce, en raison de « la forte montée du nationalisme dans le monde, des déclarations du président Donald Trump sur les armes nucléaires, du réchauffement climatique et de la détérioration de la sécurité mondiale dans un contexte de technologies de plus en plus sophistiquées », selon les termes de ces nouveaux démiurges horlogers.

Quel sens donner ?

Inutile de dire que tous ces thèmes sont au cœur du travail de Patrick Chappatte, lauréat à deux reprises du prix Thomas Nast du Club américain de la presse internationale. Lors de ces 20 dernières années, Patrick Chappatte a ainsi exploré les voies du journalisme graphique en version papier, pour le Web et sous forme animée pour la télévision. L’un de ses derniers projets, mené en compagnie de sa femme journaliste Anne-Frédérique Widmann, est une série de cinq reportages « Au cœur du couloir de la mort » publiés sur le site du New York Times en mai 2016. À noter également qu’avec son initiative « Plumes croisées » Patrick Chappatte rassemble des dessinateurs de presse originaires de pays en conflit pour encourager le dialogue sur les droits de l’homme. Sans oublier la Cartooning for Peace Fondation, dont il est cofondateur et qui compte Kofi Annan comme président d’honneur.

Tout au long de son intervention, imagée comme il se doit, Patrick Chappatte a ainsi conduit son auditoire au travers des grandes thématiques qui occupent la planète : conflit nucléaire avec la Corée du Nord, funestes flux migratoires, peur du terrorisme, Brexit suicidaire, réchauffement climatique, ingérence russe dans les élections américaines, « ubérisation » de nos sociétés, fossé des inégalités… Même l’Apple Watch, la voiture intelligente et les nouvelles technologies passent par le crible de sa vision décalée. Question de faire réfléchir sur les enjeux de notre monde avec lucidité et cette pointe d’ironie qui fait parfois douter de la réalité même des faits. Car pour Patrick Chappatte, une seule vérité compte : « S’il ne devait rester qu’un seul sens à donner à nos existences, ce devrait être le sens de l’humour ! »

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.