Speaker 2017

Claude BarrasFilmmaker

A backstage tour of Courgette

Swiss film director Claude Barras has become an influential name in the world of animated films, after his Ma vie de Courgette (My Life as a Courgette) won a César award and was nominated for the Oscars in 2017. Adapted from Gilles Paris’ book Autobiography of a Courgette and with a screenplay by Céline Sciamma, the film uses stop-motion animation to tell the story of a nine-year-old boy who is sent to a foster home. The puppets, each around 25 cm high, are filmed frame by frame. Between each shot, their position is very slightly changed to give the illusion of movement. Filled with realism, fantasy and humour, Claude Barras’ stories will make you laugh and cry at the same time.

Keynote Speech on Video

“I wanted to show how incredibly resilient children are, and that life and friendship can triumph over the darkness of the world.”

Report : A backstage tour of Courgette

The 2016 animated film My Life as a Zucchini was an outstanding international success, garnering many prizes including two César Awards in France. Swiss director Claude Barras brought some of its spirit of wonder to the 300 grownups at the 9th FHH Forum. The 9th FHH Forum ended on a poetic note. The audience of 300 or so got a glimpse behind the scenes of My Life as a Zucchini, the Swiss-French stop-motion animation that won two César Awards and was nominated for the Oscars in 2017. The man who directed it, Swiss filmmaker Claude Barras, came to tell the…

The 2016 animated film My Life as a Zucchini was an outstanding international success, garnering many prizes including two César Awards in France. Swiss director Claude Barras brought some of its spirit of wonder to the 300 grownups at the 9th FHH Forum.

The 9th FHH Forum ended on a poetic note. The audience of 300 or so got a glimpse behind the scenes of My Life as a Zucchini, the Swiss-French stop-motion animation that won two César Awards and was nominated for the Oscars in 2017. The man who directed it, Swiss filmmaker Claude Barras, came to tell the story behind his “baby,” and its journey from inception to international acclaim. My Life as a Zucchini recounts the eventful tale of a nine-year-old boy named Icare, whose dangerously alcoholic mother calls him Zucchini. He finds refuge in the attic of his house until the day he’s pursued up there by his mother, and ends up shutting the trap door on her to avoid her wrath – making her fall down the stairs. This dramatic event leaves Zucchini alone in the world, and he winds up in an orphanage. He gradually makes friends, and falls in love with Camille, before they’re both adopted by the police officer who looked after Zucchini following the accident.

Claude Barras could have brought a clip from the film to show at the Forum. He chose instead to offer up a little surprise to the assembled audience: “The movie’s based on a book by Gilles Paris called Autobiography of a Zucchini,” he explained. “To persuade the author to give me the rights, I invented a scenario of how the casting of Zucchini might go. That way I could give Gilles a feel for the kind of animation I had in mind.” The upshot was that Barras produced a hilarious short, where Zucchini introduces himself to the director and his team off-camera. Sitting on a school bench, facing the camera, the little boy squirms shyly as he answers questions from the film team. As he’s leaving, he ends with: “If I’m selected, can I choose another name? I think Zucchini’s kinda lame!”

12 frames a second

The stop-motion technique, sometimes called clay animation, requires infinite patience and no shortage of inventiveness. Puppets about 25 cm high are moved in small increments between shots. It takes twelve frames to make up one second of footage. “The animator shifts the figure’s position ever so slightly between every shot, creating the illusion of movement,” explains Barras. “An animator takes complete responsibility for their own set, and is the only person to manipulate all the figures. It takes a lot of preparation and organization.” Around a dozen animators, backed by a forty-strong team, worked on ten sets—fifteen were built in total—for a year.

The director wanted the voices to sound as natural as possible. “The children didn’t learn the dialog by heart. I wanted them to play their parts themselves, as it were. We explained the storyline and taught them their lines as we went along.” In this way, the filmmaker pulled a story for children out of a book that was intended for adults. “I had to adapt the script, but without taking away from the drama.” In the end, on a budget of only 7 million Swiss francs—other productions are in the range of 30 to 70 million—the director has created a little masterpiece with My Life as a Zucchini. Not only from a technical viewpoint, but also in terms of the story: after suffering a terrible blow, a little boy manages to find meaning in his life. “The story starts badly and ends well,” recounts Barras. “I was extremely moved by this child, and the difficulties he has to face. A bit like Heidi or Nobody’s Boy. I actually spent three weeks in a children’s home before we started shooting, so I could see for myself what it’s like. I learned there that our life force outweighs our fears about the world.”

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2017

Claude BarrasRéalisateur

Dans les coulisses de Courgette

Le cinéaste suisse Claude Barras est devenu une figure influente dans l’univers des films d’animation après que son opus Ma vie de courgette eut remporté un César pour ensuite être nominé dans la course aux Oscars 2017. Adapté du livre de Gilles Paris Autobiographie d’une courgette et écrit par Céline Sciamma, son film raconte l’histoire d’un petit garçon de 9 ans envoyé dans un foyer pour enfants. Il s’agit d’un film d’animation en volume, une technique qui voit les marionnettes d’une hauteur d’environ 25 cm être filmées en prises de vue successives, chaque intervalle permettant de les déplacer légèrement pour créer l’illusion de mouvement. Réalistes et néanmoins fantaisistes, pleines d’humour, les histoires de Claude Barras ont le pouvoir de faire rire et pleurer en même temps.

Conférence en vidéo

« Avec mon film, j’ai voulu montrer que les enfants font preuve d’une résilience incroyable. La force de la vie et de l’amitié peut l’emporter sur la noirceur du monde. »

Compte rendu : Dans les coulisses de Courgette

Sorti en 2016, le film d’animation Ma vie de Courgette a connu un succès international extraordinaire, raflant de nombreux prix, dont deux césars. Son réalisateur, le Suisse Claude Barras, est venu faire rêver les 300 adultes du 9e FHH Forum. C’est sur une note poétique que s’est clos le 9e FHH Forum. Les quelque 300 invités ont pu découvrir les coulisses de Ma vie de Courgette, le film helvético-français d’animation en stop motion qui a remporté deux césars et participé à la course aux oscars en 2017. Son réalisateur, le cinéaste suisse Claude Barras, est venu raconter l’histoire de son bébé, de sa…

Sorti en 2016, le film d’animation Ma vie de Courgette a connu un succès international extraordinaire, raflant de nombreux prix, dont deux césars. Son réalisateur, le Suisse Claude Barras, est venu faire rêver les 300 adultes du 9e FHH Forum.

C’est sur une note poétique que s’est clos le 9e FHH Forum. Les quelque 300 invités ont pu découvrir les coulisses de Ma vie de Courgette, le film helvético-français d’animation en stop motion qui a remporté deux césars et participé à la course aux oscars en 2017. Son réalisateur, le cinéaste suisse Claude Barras, est venu raconter l’histoire de son bébé, de sa naissance à sa célébrité internationale. Ma vie de Courgette raconte l’histoire mouvementée d’un petit garçon nommé Icare mais que sa mère, au bord du naufrage alcoolique, appelle Courgette. C’est dans les combles de la maison qu’il trouve refuge jusqu’au jour où, pour éviter une correction, il ferme la trappe sur sa mère, la faisant basculer dans l’escalier. Basculement également pour Courgette, qui se retrouve en orphelinat, seul au monde. Petit à petit, il va cependant se faire des amis et tomber amoureux de Camille, avant que tous les deux ne soient finalement adoptés par le policier qui s’était occupé de Courgette après l’accident.

Claude Barras aurait pu arriver au forum avec un extrait de son œuvre. Il a préféré réserver une petite surprise à l’assemblée : « Le film est tiré du livre de Gilles Paris Autobiographie d’une courgette, expliquait le cinéaste. Pour convaincre l’auteur de me céder les droits, j’ai donc imaginé le casting de Courgette, de manière à ce qu’il puisse se rendre compte du rendu final du film d’animation que j’imaginais. » Est alors né une sorte de court-métrage hilarant, dans lequel Courgette se présente au cinéaste et à son équipe hors champ. Assis sur un banc d’école, face caméra, le petit garçon se tortille en répondant timidement aux questions des professionnels, avant de lancer en sortant : « Si je suis pris, je pourrai choisir un autre nom ? Courgette, c’est un peu nul ! »

12 images par seconde

La technique du stop motion, appelée aussi « animation en volume », requiert une patience incommensurable et des trésors d’inventivité. D’une hauteur de 25 cm environ, les marionnettes sont filmées par prises de vue successives. Douze photos constituent ainsi une seconde de film. « À chaque image, un animateur bouge légèrement les personnages, exposait Claude Barras. C’est ce qui fait naître l’illusion du mouvement. Un seul animateur est responsable de son plateau, et lui seul intervient sur toutes les figurines en même temps. Cela demande un gros travail de préparation et d’organisation. » Une douzaine d’animateurs, entourés d’une équipe de 40 personnes, ont ainsi travaillé sur 10 plateaux – quinze ont été construits – pendant une année.

Pour les voix, le cinéaste a privilégié un rendu aussi réaliste que possible. « Les enfants n’apprenaient pas les textes par cœur. Je voulais qu’ils jouent leur propre rôle, en quelque sorte. On leur expliquait l’histoire tout en leur apprenant les répliques au fur et à mesure. » D’un livre pour adulte, le réalisateur a ainsi tiré une histoire pour enfant : « J’ai dû adapter le scénario, sans pour autant enlever la dramaturgie. » Au final, avec un budget de seulement 7 millions de francs, alors que d’autres productions tournent sur des budgets compris entre 30 et 70 millions, Ma vie de Courgette est un petit chef-d’œuvre. Du point de vue technique mais également scénaristique : frappé par un drame terrible, un petit garçon parvient à redonner un sens à sa vie. « L’histoire commence mal et finit bien, insiste Claude Barras. Cet enfant qui traverse les difficultés m’a beaucoup ému. Un peu comme Heidi ou Rémi dans Sans famille. J’ai d’ailleurs passé trois semaines dans une maison d’accueil avant de tourner, pour me rendre compte de cette réalité. J’y ai découvert que la force de la vie l’emporte sur les frayeurs du monde. »

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.