Speaker 2017

André Comte-SponvillePhilosopher

Seeking meaning in a shifting world

A rationalist, materialist and humanist philosopher, André Comte-Sponville writes with immense clarity to make bridges between traditional philosophical thinking and the issues of today. Having lectured for many years at the Sorbonne in Paris, he now devotes more of his time to writing and to public speaking. Revue Internationale de Philosophie called him “the greatest French philosopher since Sartre”. Among his many publications, A Small Treatise on the Great Virtues remains his best-known work. His most recent book, C’est chose tendre que la vie, takes the form of a series of interviews with François L’Yvonnet.

Keynote Speech on Video

“Being true to our values is the only antidote we have to the Alzheimer of today’s civilisations, namely brutality.”

Report : Seeking meaning in a shifting world

For philosopher André Comte-Sponville, the concept of change involves thinking about where you want to go. And to know where you want to go, you need to know where you came from, and so stay true to your values. “We’re used to constant change—but the pace of it just keeps accelerating.” Philosopher André Comte-Sponville took this opener at the FHH Forum as his starting point for reflecting on the direction humanity is headed, amid the ongoing maelstrom of upheaval we’re experiencing: globalization, climate change, populist movements on the rise, the dominance of social networks, spiraling automation, the sharing economy… “We’re having…

For philosopher André Comte-Sponville, the concept of change involves thinking about where you want to go. And to know where you want to go, you need to know where you came from, and so stay true to your values.

“We’re used to constant change—but the pace of it just keeps accelerating.” Philosopher André Comte-Sponville took this opener at the FHH Forum as his starting point for reflecting on the direction humanity is headed, amid the ongoing maelstrom of upheaval we’re experiencing: globalization, climate change, populist movements on the rise, the dominance of social networks, spiraling automation, the sharing economy… “We’re having to deal with ever more rapid and bewildering changes, but where are they taking us?” he wondered. “Clearly change can’t be an end in itself. This isn’t about being an apologist for zapping and frivolity. After all, no one really expects us to change our friends, do they? While we can’t escape change, we want that change to help us grow, to make us more enduring, to drive us forward. Change must be a means to achieving something greater.”

From a metaphysical angle, we’ve known since Heraclitus that one can never step into the same river twice, that everything always changes. Which goes totally contrary to the anthropological viewpoint, that humans would actually prefer not to change—perhaps as a way to avoid getting older. Then there’s a third approach, a practical response, which is proactive change. That’s where you adapt to these inescapable shifts so you can move forward, and so you avoid entrenching yourself in a position that opposes change. “Physics teaches us that all processes tend toward maximum chaos,” Comte-Sponville pointed out. “You only have to look at France to see that! Which is why it’s so important to get the fundamentals right. Here again, the Ancients knew what they were talking about. As Pindar wisely said: ‘Become what you are.’ In other words, your inner being holds a better self, the one you should strive for.”

Rehabilitating politics

Transposed to the heart of our societies, where change is commonly seen as instability, that principle can be read as an attachment to our values—the values we received from our parents and are meant to transmit to our children. “Viewed like that, change becomes a means of extending duration,” continued Comte-Sponville. “More time to grow, and to advance. In other words, change exists for humankind—humankind does not exist for change. Then the next question that arises is to know where we are going. If the answer is simply that we’re heading into the future, that doesn’t offer any guarantees to the individual or to our societies. The much more important question to ask is where we want to go. And here I’m going to wheel out an African proverb that says the only way to know where you want to go is to remember where you’ve come from.” To illustrate his point, Comte-Sponville draws an analogy with Alzheimer’s: as your memory loss increases, you lose your capacity to project yourself into the future.

The philosopher’s conclusion is incontrovertible: “Staying true to our values is the only antidote we have, the only weapon to counter barbarism, the Alzheimer’s disease of our societies.” He emphasizes that it’s not a question of morality: “Morality is important to ‘construct’ your self. But in relation to others, all that’s required is the law and the notion of mercy. We know that we can’t rely on morality to fight tax evasion—it doesn’t hold enough sway over society to act as a check. What we need to realize is that economics now takes place at a global scale, while the political framework remains at a national level. So the issue isn’t too much economic and financial globalization, but rather too little political globalization. We’re headed in the right direction, sure, but at this point we need to talk about political rehabilitation, of rehabilitating the political!”

Video interview

Click on the video to view the speaker’s interview at the Forum.

The Speakers

See which experts and personalities are invited to the Forum.

Intervenant 2017

André Comte-SponvillePhilosophe

À la recherche de sens dans un monde qui change

Philosophe rationaliste, matérialiste et humaniste, André Comte-Sponville est un écrivain à la plume limpide qui propose une sagesse pour notre temps, rapprochant les réponses philosophiques traditionnelles des questions contemporaines. Pendant longtemps maître de conférences à la Sorbonne (université Paris 1), il consacre aujourd’hui davantage de temps à l’écriture et aux conférences publiques. Reconnu comme « le plus grand philosophe français depuis Sartre » par La Revue internationale de philosophie, il est notamment l’auteur du Petit traité des grandes vertus, son opus le plus célèbre. Son dernier ouvrage, C’est chose tendre que la vie, se présente sous la forme d’une série d’entretiens menés avec François L’Yvonnet.

Conférence en vidéo

« Au final, la fidélité à nos valeurs est le seul antidote que nous avons à disposition contre la maladie d’Alzheimer de nos civilisations qu’est la barbarie. »

Compte rendu : À la recherche de sens dans un monde qui change

Pour le philosophe André Comte-Sponville, la notion de changement implique la volonté de savoir où l’on veut aller. Et pour savoir où l’on veut aller, il faut savoir d’où l’on vient et donc faire preuve de fidélité à nos valeurs. « Tout change, c’est vrai, mais tout change de plus en plus vite. » Pour le philosophe André Comte-Sponville, ce premier constat fait au FHH Forum était le point de départ d’une réflexion sur le dessein de l’humanité prise dans le tourbillon de grands bouleversements en cours : mondialisation, réchauffement climatique, résurgence du populisme, dictature des réseaux sociaux, robotisation galopante, économie collaborative… « Oui, les…

Pour le philosophe André Comte-Sponville, la notion de changement implique la volonté de savoir où l’on veut aller. Et pour savoir où l’on veut aller, il faut savoir d’où l’on vient et donc faire preuve de fidélité à nos valeurs.

« Tout change, c’est vrai, mais tout change de plus en plus vite. » Pour le philosophe André Comte-Sponville, ce premier constat fait au FHH Forum était le point de départ d’une réflexion sur le dessein de l’humanité prise dans le tourbillon de grands bouleversements en cours : mondialisation, réchauffement climatique, résurgence du populisme, dictature des réseaux sociaux, robotisation galopante, économie collaborative… « Oui, les changements sont de plus en plus rapides et déroutants, mais pour nous emmener où ? s’interrogeait-il. Car le changement ne peut évidemment pas être une fin en soi. Il ne saurait donc être question de faire l’apologie du zapping et de la frivolité. D’ailleurs, nous demande-t-on de changer d’amis ? Si nous sommes effectivement soumis au changement, c’est essentiellement pour grandir, pour durer, pour progresser. Le changement doit ainsi être mis au service de quelque chose de plus grand. »

D’un point de vue métaphysique, on sait depuis Héraclite, et son impossibilité de descendre deux fois dans le même fleuve, que tout change toujours. Une notion parfaitement contraire à l’acception anthropologique du concept voulant que l’homme, finalement, préférerait ne pas changer, peut-être pour ne pas vieillir. Reste alors la troisième voie, pratique celle-là, voulant que le changement implique l’action, l’adaptation à cette inéluctable mutation pour progresser et, par là même, éviter toute régression synonyme d’immobilisme. « Mais la physique nous enseigne que l’évolution en tant que telle tend spontanément vers le désordre maximal, rappelait André Comte-Sponville. Il suffit d’observer la France pour s’en rendre compte ! D’où l’importance de se baser sur la bonne formule. Là encore, l’enseignement des anciens est de très bon conseil. Pindare ne disait-il pas avec sagesse : “Deviens ce que tu es” ? En d’autres termes, ton être intérieur enferme un mieux vers lequel il faut tendre. »

Réhabilitation du politique

Transposé au cœur de nos civilisations, où le changement devient facilement de la versatilité, un tel précepte doit se comprendre comme un attachement à nos valeurs, celles que l’on a reçues et qu’il nous incombe de transmettre aux générations futures. « En ce sens, le changement devient un moyen au service de la durée, développait André Comte-Sponville. Pour grandir, pour progresser. Autrement dit, le changement est pour l’homme et non l’homme pour le changement. Mais alors, la prochaine question est bien celle de savoir où nous allons. Si la réponse est que nous allons vers l’avenir, on n’offre là aucune garantie ni à l’individu ni aux civilisations. Il est donc nettement plus important de savoir où nous voulons aller. Et dans ce contexte, je ne peux que citer un proverbe africain selon lequel la seule façon de savoir où l’on veut aller, c’est de savoir d’où l’on vient. » Pour illustrer son propos, André Comte-Sponville prend la maladie d’Alzheimer comme analogie : avec la perte de la mémoire, le rapport volontaire vers l’avenir s’évapore.

La conclusion du philosophe s’impose : « La fidélité à nos valeurs est le seul antidote que nous avons à disposition pour lutter contre la maladie d’Alzheimer de nos civilisations qu’est la barbarie. » Et il ne s’agit pas là d’une question de morale. « La morale est importante pour se « faire » soi-même. Pour les autres, la loi et la miséricorde suffisent, précisait-il. On ne peut donc certainement pas compter sur la morale pour lutter contre l’évasion fiscale. Elle n’y peut pas grand-chose vu son peu d’incidence sociale. Ce qu’il faut voir, c’est que la vie économique se fait désormais à l’échelle mondiale alors que le cadre politique reste national. Le problème n’est donc pas qu’il y a trop de mondialisation économique et financière mais plutôt qu’il n’y a pas assez de mondialisation politique. Nous avançons certes dans le bon sens, mais à ce stade il faut parler de réhabilitation politique, de réhabilitation du politique ! »

Interview en vidéo

Cliquez sur la vidéo pour visionner l’interview de l’intervenant dans le cadre du Forum.

Les Intervenants

Découvrez les experts et personnalités attendues au Forum.